Book Review: Faith and Fidelity

index-1_1

“New York City vice detective Evan Cerelli has lost his wife, the only person he’s ever loved and slept with. He’s trying to get on with his life, build a life for his children. Former homicide detective Matt Haight is a ladies’ man, all sex/no commitment. He’s depressed, having a midlife crisis, and not sure where his life is headed. The two find friendship in the bottom of a shared bottle. When the friendship turns to love, it shakes two straight men to the core and flips their lives inside out. Kids, families, careers that are not gay-friendly–can all the love in the world overcome the obstacles of faith and fidelity?” (From Amazon.com)

No need for a recap on this one. Bottom line is that I thought this was a solid book. The romance absolutely paled in comparison, however, to Abigail Roux’s Cut and Run series. Unfortunately for many, many, m/m romance authors out there I will always compare/contrast them to Roux’s series.

Tere Michaels does a fine job of introducing us to her characters. I really enjoyed Evan’s children, I thought they were fabulous and lent a “breath of fresh air” feeling to the book. I thought the book in and of itself was a bit too angsty for my liking. Evan is a widower trying to care for his children, Matt seems sad throughout the book and it was just too heavy for me. Some people love an angsty book but not I. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t slit your wrists angst but just a little too much. Just a little.

I also think I was extremely spoilt by amazing earth shattering sex scenes in Roux’s series and the sex/romance in Faith and Fidelity was just not very sexy. I kept holding my breath the entire time waiting for them to stop the foreplay and actually have sex but (spoiler alert!!) I was left disappointed throughout the whole book.

As I said though the book was solid. The kids were fun and I liked seeing them interact with Matt. I think this is a great book for readers who aren’t familiar with the m/m genre since it’s so light on the sexy stuff. And that’s not to say it isn’t chock full of steamy kissing, stroking, fondling, etc. It is. But for anyone looking for these guys to score a home run…it’s not happening in this book.

There are two more books to the series which I may read at some point but for now it’s just this one.

Final Review: A solid 3 stars for this one. Don’t let my review scare you away, this book was good it just didn’t live up to my specific expectations.

Leave a Reply

