Book Review: One Foot in the Grave

one-foot-in-the-grave

“Half vampire Cat Crawfield is now Special Agent Cat Crawfield, working for the government to rid the world of the rogue undead. She’s still using everything Bones, her sexy and dangerous ex, taught her, but when Cat is targeted for assassination, the only man who can help her is the vampire she left behind.” (From Amazon.com)

What I Thought:

The second installment of the Night Huntress series picks up several years after we last saw Cat Crawfield and she’s gone from bitchin’ vampire slayer to bitchin’ special agent vampire slayer. She’s got a crew of fellow agents to call her own and all the vamps she can slay at her fingertips.

I especially loved seeing more of her team members. They each had their own distinct personalities and I could vividly imagine what they looked like and who they were as characters. Tate is back as Cat’s second in command and I really enjoyed the character. I pictured him as a younger Tate Donovan. (And not just the name-though I’m sure that had something to do with it!)

Cat’s best friend is getting married and while at the wedding reception, Cat runs into who other than the infamous Bones. He looks a little different, his hair a bit longer, wavy, and light brown. Still my small pet peeve with this series is that Bones is so clearly a carbon copy of Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Even with the brown hair (human Spike!) and at the end his cropped and curly platinum blonde hair (Spike also sported this style in S7 of BtVS.) Still, it doesn’t bother me enough to make him unrelatable as his own character for some reason and I of course greatly enjoyed this book as well. I thought overall it was more action packed than the first and I really truly enjoyed the special agent aspect.

This time the villain is Bones’ maker Ian. I liked him as a villain and I doubt we’ve seen the last of him. I won’t give away the ending but I can’t wait for book 3. You’ll find some of my favorite lines in the book below the final review.

Final Review: 4/5.

“Life’s a bitch and then one stabs you.”

“You know the old saying: once you go dead, no one’s better in bed.”

“Some days, vampire hierarchy felt like The Godfather to me. On acid.”

“‘I am going to knock the slut out of you, Annette,’ I gritted between clenched teeth. ‘And that should take some doing, you uppity English tramp!'”

Leave a Reply

