Book Review: Halfway to the Grave

halfway to the grave

“Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father–the one responsible for ruining her mother’s life. Then she’s captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.” (From Amazon.com)

Cat Crawfield is the product of date rape. And as if that’s not bad enough, her so called father is a vampire. Since she turned sixteen she’s been taking vampires on one at a time trying to avenge her mother and kill her vampire father. If she can find him. But one night she meets her match in Bones, a sexy vampire who makes her a deal: he’ll help her find her father if Cat helps Bones rid the world of his enemies.

What I Thought:

I loved this book. I really thought the story progressed really quickly, there was twists and turns, and enough action to keep me interested. I love the Cat is half-vampire and I of course thought Bones was sex on a stick! Bones did remind me of a certain someone though.

Blonde…strong, defined cheekbones…british…and at the end of the book Cat even gifts him with a long black leather duster. Hmmmm… any Buffy the Vampire Slayer fans out there?? Bones IS Spike. But I still thought the story had more than enough originality for me to overlook the resemblance of Bones to Spike.

I like the vampire dynamics. The author did a good job of incorporating some new fun things like vamps needing to be killed with silver not the ever beloved wooden stake. Vamp’s eyes glow green when they’re hungry or aroused.  I thoroughly enjoyed Halfway to the Grave, am almost all the way through the second installment in the series and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

“Upon first seeing my apartment, Bones had derisively said he was going to slaughter my landlord for daring to charge me money for it.”

“The same fingers that had just crushed and maimed delicately traced my jaw as though it were fine crystal.”

“‘Crosses. Unless they’re rigged up like yours, crosses dont’ do much more than make us laugh before we eat you.'”

“There is only one way to fight, and that’s dirty. Clean, gentlemanly fighting will get you nowhere but dead, and fast. Take every cheap shot, every low blow, absolutely kick people when they’re down, and then maybe you’ll be the one who walks away.”

Final Review: 4/5.

Leave a Reply

