Book Reviews: Kidnapped for Christmas/Yuletide Greetings

1001004009241185

“Plus-sized and practical Jillian Marks is the responsible one in her family. She got all the common sense and her little sister Sabrina got all the skinny genes. When Sabrina plans a custom kinky kidnapping as a Christmas present to herself, Jillian tries to talk her out of it but her ditzy sister won’t listen. Muscular and intense Kyle Stephens is a Dom who is looking for a permanent sub- a curvy woman who can submit in the bedroom but still think for herself. He takes Sabrina’s file but mistakenly ‘naps the wrong sister, grabbing Jillian instead of Sabrina…” (From Amazon.com)

I really don’t have to sum this one up since the amazon blurb pretty much took care of it for me. This is your basic “mistaken identity” kidnapping with a little holiday twist to it. Jillian is level-headed and her sister is most definitely not. Sis plans a little kinknapping but napper Kyle snatches up the wrong sister. Now Jillian is bound and gagged in his dungeon and she’s too turned on to tell Kyle the truth.

What I Thought:

Generally it doesn’t bother me when erotica isn’t realistic because erotica is all about fantasy. However I just didn’t really care for Jillian that much and there was absolutely zero storyline. Without storyline (for me, at least) it doesn’t matter how drool-worthy the hero is or how hot the sex is, it’s just not as much fun to read the book. I also had two pet peeves with this one. Number one, he called her “sweetheart” and “baby” throughout the entire book. From the very beginning and I started getting a little queasy after the first three dozen times. Secondly, (and this is just more of a preference) I don’t like the whole “Master” thing. For some reason it doesn’t pack as big of a punch as Sir does for me. Master sounds fake, forced, and unrealistic to me. And I know that’s being pretty picky of a D/s story but hey, I’m allowed. Bottom line, this one was a bit boring for me to be honest.

Final Review: 2/5.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yuletide-FINAL

“Zach Colvin never believed in Santa Claus, so filling in as Santa at the mall for one of his friends is not making his holiday bright. He’s supposed to be on vacation, not working. When his brother promises to send him a package full of holiday cheer, her never expected it to be a near-naked woman.” (From Amazon.com)

Here’s another short D/s holiday themed novella I read this week. In short, woman meets man online, woman goes to meet man and have steamy one night stand. Woman was tricked, shows up on principal of local high school’s doorstep dressed in basically nothing. Principal happens to be horny and dominant. Good luck for woman who is horny and submissive. Sexcapades ensue. I liked this one much more than above. It was more believable for me, more fun, and much hotter. The whole draw of D/s is the delicious sexual tension and mystery that comes with it and Brynn Paulin was able to deliver. I still had to deal with the whole Master thing in this one but it was more bearable to me. The language was crass and Zach Colvin was hot. The holiday theme was strong and there is even creative use of a candy cane. You can’t go wrong!

Final Review: 3/5.

Leave a Reply

