Book Review: Faefever

Quick Note: I seem to get a comment every now and then but there are never any words when I open it up. So if you don’t see a reply or your comment approved, that’s what happened. I’m a little technologically impaired.

fae

“He calls me his queen of the night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him too.

When MacKayla Lane receives a page torn from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words. And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close. But evil is closer. And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt: for answers. For revenge. And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil that it corrupts anyone who touches it.” (From Amazon.com)

In the third installment in Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series, we continue with Mac on her hunt for the elusive Sinsar Dubh. Mac starts to recieve ominous packages in the mail containing pages of her sister’s journal…the LM (Lord Master) wants Mac to know he is still thinking of her. But she won’t forget. She’s after revenge – the LM murdered her sister and she has every intention of stopping his madness.

In Faefever, Mac visits Rowena and the other sidhe-seer’s in the abbey as well as trying to align herself with all the powerful players. She and Barrons continue to hunt the Sinsar Dubh. She and V’lane get closer and Mac learns more Fae lore. She also finds a somewhat-ally in Inspector Jayne when she feeds him unseelie and convinces him to phone her whenever a violent crime happens in the city–her way of tracking the evil book.

But it doesn’t seem to matter how hard Mac fights because the walls come tumbling, tumbling down…and Dublin plunges into darkness…

What I Thought:

I love this series. Period. I think I could talk it up forever and not really make much sense but I’m going to try to organize my thoughts. There were some really key things happening in Faefever and I’ll try to skirt over them without giving too much away.

Mac learns more about the Fae. I really love the lore that Moning weaves into this one. V’lane makes for a great storyteller and it’s really awesome to finally know some more details about the Fae. V’lane also gives us a little information on the Lord Master as well.

I also love that there were a couple of relationships that moved forward in this one. We see a lot more of Dani and also Dani and Mac bonding together. I like Dani (which is good considering she’ll have her very own trilogy soon) and can’t wait to see who she grows into.

The Mac/Barrons relationship progresses as well. Mac is drawn more and more to Barrons while at the same time trusting him less and less. We find out that V’lane (as well as others) are afraid of Barrons which really makes one question what the heck is he?? I love the Voice lessons scenes in the book, I think they’re really well done and truth be told throughout all five of the books I’m constantly anxiously awaiting the next scene they star in together.

And hello? Cake scene…

“Cake and candles exploded from my hands, shot straight up in the air, hit the ceiling, and stuck there, dripping gobs of icing. I stared up at it. My lovely cake. Then I was trapped between the wall and his hard body, with no awareness of having gotten there…
Never do that again, Ms. Lane. Do not insult me with your silly rituals, and idiotic platitudes. Never try to humanize me. Don’t think we’re the same, you and I. We’re not.'”

Final Review: 5/5 stars. Did you expect anything less?

Leave a Reply

