Book Review: Beauty Dates the Beast

“WANTED: Single, human female to join charming, wealthy, single male were-cougar for a night of romantic fun–and maybe more.” (From Amazon.com)

I actually discovered Jessica Sims’ books after recently purchasing an anthology, The Undead in my Bed. I wasn’t totally thrilled with the book or her story but the sex scenes were so incredible I decided to check out Beauty Dates the Beast and boy, am I glad I did!

Bathsheba Ward is a human working at a Supernatural dating agency. It’s forbidden for humans and Supes to date but were-cougar Beau Russell doesn’t take no for an answer. He’s been stood up by another client of the service and needs a new date ASAP. Unluckily Luckily for Bath, she’s the only option.

Bath is completely drawn to Beau but she’s hiding a secret. Her sister is a werewolf and they’re both on the run so that her sister doesn’t have to join the pack. It all starts to unravel however when Bath starts becoming stalked by a blood-thirsty and mysterious super creature.

What I Thought:

The first in Sim’s Midnight Liasons series, I really actually thoroughly enjoyed this one. I almost didn’t purchase it because I wasn’t a fan of the novella included in the Undead… anthology. I thought the book all in all closely resembled the writing style of some of my favorite authors, Lynsay Sands and Kerrelyn Sparks. There was humor, great sex, and fun characters. I’m particularly happy that this book centered around a shapeshifter as I’ve been more and more intrigued by them lately.

I liked Bath’s sister Sara as well. I felt for her whenever she turned into a wolf because it just really seemed like she couldn’t control it and I was always wanting to learn more about her particular “wolf” problem (which of course, I did, after reading book 2!)

I really liked getting an insider’s look at the matchmaking agency, Midnight Liasons. The secondary characters were fun and interesting.

After looking at the reviews on Amazon, I’m surprised by how many people didn’t care for the book. I love paranormal but this was definitely a light read. I like light, fluffy, sexy, fun books. They take me away a lot faster than dark UF (urban fantasy) books tend to. They’re just plain fun.

But, that being said, if you do love you some dark UF and “science-y” paranormal romances, you probably won’t enjoy this book. It’s just a light and airy read. The urban fantasy genre is so big right now; a lot of readers prefer those to the fluff stuff.

Bottom line? It was a nice, quick, fun, refreshing read.

Final Review: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

