Book Review: Spellbound Falls

“Olivia…doesn’t have time to deal with her growing attraction to the dangerously seductive Mac. Besides, weird stuff seems to happen all around him. Take the fact that her seatbelt keeps getting stuck in his presence, or locks magically open for him without keys, and that he seems to have a talent for sensing things…” (From Amazon.com)

Olivia Baldwin is a widow running a camp designed to help families get along better with each other. Her husband died overseas and together with her hard to love parents-in-law, Olivia makes Inglenook her second priority. Her eight year old daughter, Sophie, is her first.

Mac Oceanus and his newly discovered son, Henry, come to Inglenook to try to bond. Olivia finds herself incredibly attracted to Mac and also eerily spooked by the magic that seems to occur when he’s around. Doors lock and unlock seemingly at random, seatbelts get stuck, and zippers don’t work. Olivia wants to have an affair and be done with it several months later but love catches her off guard and soon magic is happening all around her.

What I Thought:

I have read most of Janet Chapman’s Highlander time travel books and found myself skipping and skimming a lot of them so I was wary of purchasing this one (especially at full price for an ebook) but I was caught up in the plot surprisingly quickly.

I read some of the reviews on Amazon prior to purchasing and one common disappointment seemed to be that Mac’s son, Henry, was old-fashioned and spoke too eloquently to be believable as a child. I had absolutely no problem with the way he spoke. He did speak like an adult throughout most of the book but Chapman made it clear early on that there wasn’t something quite right with the Oceanuses. It was my understanding from the beginning that Henry wasn’t originally from the 21st century.

Another thing I really enjoyed about this book was that the paranormal/magical elements were placed throughout very intelligently. The author didn’t throw the whole back story at the reader at once but instead left hints and used foreshadowing to allow me to keep guessing what was happening and who Mac and Henry really were. Even at the end of the book, nothing is spelled out for you (which I actually liked as it allows for a little more imagination.) Don’t get me wrong though, there was a definite conclusion and you do finally find out where Mac is from and who he is.

I had only two quarrels with the book. Number one, I thought Olivia was a little too down on herself. I understand that the point was to have her left very broken after her first marriage but she seemed to be constantly doubting herself, her looks, her decisions, everything! And it did get a little on my nerves. I found myself hoping throughout the book that she would finally grow up and be confident.

The only other thing I didn’t like is that there was only one love scene. I know, I know, not all novels need to have sex but to build up the sexual tension and only give the reader one quick glimpse at the actual act is such a tease. I’m not asking for erotica, just a little more love.

All in all, I have already downloaded the second book in the series, Charmed by His Love, starring another widow from Spellbound Falls. I’m excited to see where the series goes.

Final review: 3/5.

Leave a Reply

