Ladygarden? Huh?

“Io pointed at his crotch. ‘You’re getting all bulgy, and I resent your penis’s implication that I’m doing something to arouse you.”

This book has some of the funniest lines I think I’ve ever read. And I’ve read some seriously funny authors. I’ve been reading A Tale of Two Vampires and I have to say, I’m totally into it. I find myself laughing outloud every time the two main characters have a conversation.

Nikola is a Dark One, otherwise known as a vampire. Iolanthe Tennyson is an amateur photographer who during a visit in Austria to her cousin, falls thru a time portal and ends up in Nikola’s castle. Nikola is mysterious and sexy but also a scientist, interested in all which he does not understand. This leads to some extremely funny circumstances throughout the book.

“‘…stop staring at my breasts.’
His gaze flickered straight back to my boobs. ‘Why? You present them for male appreciation, do you not?'”

I don’t normally read Katie MacAlister (which, as I’ve said previously is very peculiar considering she is known for her Paranormal Romance) but the character of Nikola is so intriguing and genuinely humorous, I can’t help but read on. The storyline, to be completely honest, has been done. Time travel? Vampires? Though, I must admit, though they’re two of my favorite genres I have never read a time travel novel that was also a vampire novel.

“‘Perhaps penguins were not allowed on the ship that you sailed on to Europe. However, I will admit that I’ve never seen a pink penguin, and I take quite an interest in natural history…’
‘No, it’s not…er…it’s not a real penguin.’ For some reason, Io seemed flustered by this turn in conversation. He was more than intrigued by that phenomenon. ‘It’s my Tingleator. It’s shaped like a penguin, you see.’
He hated feeling left out of knowledge. ‘I am unfamilar with a Tingleator. You will describe it to me.’
‘Sorry, that may have been too regional. It’s my hoe, you know?’
His frown deepened.
‘My hoe for the ladygarden.’
Perhaps she was mad. Her conversation certainly didn’t make too much sense. ‘You wish to discuss gardening?'”

Seriously, check this book out. It’s totally worth it even if just for the hysterical conversation that takes place between Io and Nikola. I wish I could post all my favorite quotes but the story does progress and I don’t wish to give anything away!

Leave a Reply

