WIRN July 17, 2012

WIRN (What I’m Reading Now)

I thought after finishing Outlander that I might start and finish a lighter, “fluffier” book. By the time my fingers flipped to the last page, I couldn’t wait to read on. I was wary of starting Dragonfly in Amber because it begins with Claire and her grown daughter in 1968. No more Jamie Fraser?? No more 18th century Scotland?? However, I forged ahead and very quickly became enveloped in the modern day storyline. Claire (now Randall again) brings her adult daughter Brianna to Scotland in order to tell her the truth. Little over 20 years ago, Claire was hurled back thru time and into the arms of a twenty-three year old Scottish outlaw–Brianna’s real father.

I found myself almost a little distraught that after Part One ended, Part Two picked up Claire and Jamie’s story from back in the 18th century, now in France and trying to put a stop to the inevitable final battle at Culloden where many lives will be lost. My disappointment lasted only several pages, as I found myself overjoyed to once again become a spectator of Claire and Jamie’s private moments and new adventure in France.

Now on page 165, I can’t wait to see what happens in the 18th century…and also what will happen in the 20th. I had previously read Outlander years ago but never continued the series and I’m excited to find out where it will go. I’m going to try to read a fluffy book after this one, but I can’t promise anything. We’ll see how great the story gets from here!

Leave a Reply

