WIRN July 13, 2012

WIRN (What I’m Reading Now)

Right now, I’m currently working my way thru the 850 page Outlander. Diana Gabaldon writes about Claire Randall, a former combat nurse who is currently on a second honeymoon with her husband, Frank. One morning while exploring outside, Claire touches an ancient stone and suddenly it’s 1743 and before she knows it, she’s married to Jamie Fraser, a Scottish outlaw on the run.

Of course, there’s much more to it than just that. As I’m sure you gathered seeing as how it’s over eight hundred pages long. It’s really a fantastic read. I’m not much into historical romance anymore but this one is just captivating. It’s one of the few books I can make it thru that’s written in first person narrative. I have read it before, though it’s been many years since I picked it up and I’m finding that the second time around is even more breathtaking and exciting.

Gabaldon has published seven(?) more books in this series and I’m excited to continue it. You can definitely look forward to a more thorough review later on after I’ve finished it. While it’s quite long, every chapter is exciting and contains something new and different. I actually have two copies, so look for my second copy on http://bookmooch.com/m/bio/meghanirene.

2 thoughts on “WIRN July 13, 2012

  1. I think the best adventure/action stories in Literature come from Scottish writers or are set in Scotland. That specific time period, just prior to Culloden, Scotland was full of drama and robust characters. So as far-sout as the Outlander story gets sometimes, especially in some of the later books, her story is really not that far off the mark. Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson, to name a few, wrote some great historical pieces about that time period in Scotland too. Hope you enjoy! I did.

    • Thanks for commenting! Scotland fascinates me, especially the history of it. I have always loved reading any book set in 17th/18th century Scotland. I’ve only read Outlander and from what I hear about the rest of the books, I am a little wary of them but I’ll definitely give them a try at least. Hope you come back soon!

Leave a Reply

