Authors

I think the best way for you to get to know me is by taking a look at my bookshelf. I dare you to find one book that you can pick up, read a chapter of, and put back down again. The books I read are thrilling, mysterious, romantic, and just plain good! Now I know everyone has their own preferences, but here are mine.

1. Lynsay Sands and Kerrelyn Sparks
These women are just too much fun. Both series are about vampires and both series are hilariously funny as well as steamy and romantic. I started reading Sand’s Argeneau series years ago with “Single, White Vampire,” “Love Bites,” and “Tall, Dark, and Hungry.” These three were the first published and feature three vampire brothers whose meddling vampire mother plays matchmaker. The series continues on through fifteen more books as well as a novella.
Kerrelyn Sparks writes very similarly though the plot line of each of her vampire books usually involves a little more action and mystery. The Love at Stake series revolves mostly around vampires but Sparks has included other supernatural creatures as main characters as well. Hysterical and full of plot and intrigue as well as good old steamy fun, these books are an incredible read.

2. Janet Evanovich
Now, if I’m being honest, while I know most people just can’t get enough of the Stephanie Plum series, I kind of grew out of it. I read up to “Twelve Sharp” and after that I just got a little bored with the same old bounty hunter situations. Now, don’t get me wrong, Evanovich is a fabulous author and the Plum series is a fabulous series. Definitely pick up a copy of “One for the Money” and read it, if you haven’t already. A great light read and good for the beach. However, I did just discover a new Evanovich series which I love. Very light and humorous like the Plum series but also containing a bit of a supernatural element as well, which of course I can’t resist. “Wicked Appetite” is the first in the series is about finding one of the seven deadly sins, in stone form. (You can guess which one of the seven deadly this book revolves around.) And you’ll certainly see more about the series as I will post a review for both books one and two of the series.

3. Karen Marie Moning
I feel as though I just have to include this author. Hands down, I have never and don’t believe I ever will read a series quite like her Fever series. They are definitely Paranormal. They’re definitely dark. They’re definitely fully addictive. Written in the first person, they’re about a young woman whose sister (while studying abroad in Ireland) is viciously murdered. Feeling the very real urge to find out what happened to her, Mac jumps on a plane to investigate. I won’t go too far into the plot as I do plan on posting reviews of all five books in the series. These are books that a reader dreams of and waits for. These are books that come around only once in a few hundred. I’m not usually a fan of Urban Fantasy. In general I find it almost too plot filled and confusing. I can’t tell you how amazing this series is. I stayed up until three or four AM every morning just trying to get to the next page, eyes bloodshot and tight with exhaustion. But it was definitely the best feeling and if you’re a reader, you know what I’m talking about. Also try out Moning’s Highlander series, more light-hearted and romantic but still great nontheless.

There are most certainly more authors that I enjoy beyond these four wonderful ladies and I’ll definitely be posting more author suggestions along the way. In the meantime, get started on these ones! You won’t be disappointed…

 

Leave a Reply

